Location, location, location

Wandering the streets of London at lunchtime over the last couple of weeks I’ve noticed a fair few film crews hard at work on set.

Freemasons on film

Passing the Freemason’s Hall in Great Queen Street yesterday I decided to ask one mature member of the crew (in a bright hi-vis jacket who was enjoying a lunchtime fag outside) what film was being shot in there. He turned and said “I really don’t understand what the film’s all about mate as it ain’t my cup of tea. As far as I know it’s called Assasin’s Creed or something or other.” Brilliant!

At the moment there’s also filming going on outside the Mac Store in Covent Garden. It’s an adaptation of the book “A Street Cat Named Bob” (a true story about a homeless guy and his pet cat who kept him on the straight and narrow. More on him here.) A big thanks to the friendly security chap on the set the other morning who told me about it while I was passing.

It’s nice to see people being friendly and willing to divulge information, unlike the other week outside the Rosewood Hotel in Holborn. There was a mad mob of Paparazzi milling about outside, I tried asking a couple who they were waiting for but I got no answer. Another told me (a photographer on the back of a motorbike with the rider revving up the engine ready for the “off”) “No idea mate, perhaps that pack of screaming teens over there can help you, why don’t you ask them,” as if!

In the end I walked off as I couldn’t be bothered waiting. Turns out it was Justin Bieber holed up in there. Me, I’d rather be watching a film being made! P

Leave a Reply

